This forum section is in read-only mode and contains posts made on TIMGUL between October 2007 and July 2011 (all posts made after that period and during Spring 2009 were lost). In order to continue the discussion, we encourage you to make a new account at CodeWalrus and recreate your topic there. If you want to login to your old TIMGUL account, click here (you can logout here). (More info about what happened)

* WalrusIRC Shoutbox (Support and development thread)

This shoutbox is not available from this forum section. However, you can access it via IRC at #CodeWalrus on EFnet network.

Author Topic: PS1 or PS2?  (Read 957 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DaveM

  • Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
PS1 or PS2?
« on: January 28, 2009, 02:04:40 pm »
Hello!


I wanted to ask you, did somebody had experiences with the difference between Playstation 1 and 2 while working with Music 2000? I have a PS 1 and would it be better to work with the PS 2 from the aspect of sound quality? I just use the cinch wire and I would do that with the PS 2, too. Would it be the same quality?



Offline DJ_Omnimaga

  • The Game.
  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 1467
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Omnimaga: The Coders of Tomorrow
  • Favorite Music Creation Software: MTV Music Generator (A.K.A Music 2000)
Re: PS1 or PS2?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 04:33:32 am »
I recommend an original PS1, from experience, altough if your CD is scratched it can crash more than on a PS2 I think.  On the PS2 the sound quality is the same and the memory limitations too, plus you can only save your songs on PS1 memory cards. But loading new samples can take up to 1 minute instead of like 2 seconds on a PS2, so the wait can be incredibly long sometimes. Besides that everything else seemed similar.

I personally use a PS1 emulator on my PC (same quality than on PS1, except that the click and pops you hear between low treble samples are louder sometimes)
Omnimaga/TIMGUL founder and former TI-83+/84+ BASIC/Hybrid/Axe programmer



http://i-lost-the-ga.me

Offline OverKlockD

  • Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: PS1 or PS2?
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 07:55:13 pm »
I've noticed that if you run Music 2000 on a ps2 in high quality and fast loading mode you get unlimited undos if that helps you.

Offline DJ_Omnimaga

  • The Game.
  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 1467
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Omnimaga: The Coders of Tomorrow
  • Favorite Music Creation Software: MTV Music Generator (A.K.A Music 2000)
Re: PS1 or PS2?
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 05:21:29 am »
Uhm, how would you active such mode? I never seen such option in my PS2, but again I only got one in exchange from my small PS1 this summer and only used it like 6 times. Is it only on the big model? because I have the small PS2 model
Omnimaga/TIMGUL founder and former TI-83+/84+ BASIC/Hybrid/Axe programmer



http://i-lost-the-ga.me

Offline DJ_Omnimaga

  • The Game.
  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 1467
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Omnimaga: The Coders of Tomorrow
  • Favorite Music Creation Software: MTV Music Generator (A.K.A Music 2000)
Re: PS1 or PS2?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2009, 10:30:01 pm »
oooh thanks I never noticed that before. had to press triangle to display the version and to me "Version" wasn't something really attracting. I mean I didn't expected any options to be hidden there x.x It works now
Omnimaga/TIMGUL founder and former TI-83+/84+ BASIC/Hybrid/Axe programmer



http://i-lost-the-ga.me

 

You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games